Photo Gallery: How the City Council’s “Transition Zones” Could Change Austin Forever

CodeNEXT is dead and gone, right?

Wrong. City officials withdrew the reviled plan last August, but the real estate speculators who supported it are still trying to get their hands on the land underneath Austin’s single-family homes.

Now it looks like they have a plan to make it happen.

In early May, our city council released a set of land-redevelopment guidelines that look an awful lot like the next CodeNEXT. They call for the creation of “transition” zones in neighborhoods across our community, areas where the following will take place:

  • Single-family lots will be forcibly rezoned to accommodate structures as high as 65 feet
  • Land values and taxes will rise sharply, and home sales are likely to result in demolitions
  • Most new construction must be multi-family rental, condominiums, or mixed use (commercial and residential)

Here’s what that might look like:

 

Is your family’s home in a transition zone? If you live anywhere near a major street or bus line, then the answer is probably yes. Click here to learn more.

If you’re concerned for the future of your family and home, contact Mayor Steve Adler and your city council member today. (Check this map if you aren’t sure which council member represents you.) Ask them to explain why they are doing this to you and your neighbors!

 

Mayor Steve Adler:
steve.adler@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2100

Natasha Harper-Madison (District 1):
natasha.madison@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2101

Delia Garza (District 2):
delia.garza@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2102

Sabino Renteria (District 3):
sabino.renteria@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2103

Greg Casar (District 4):
gregorio.casar@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2104

Ann Kitchen (District 5):
ann.kitchen@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2105

Jimmy Flannigan (District 6):
jimmy.flannigan@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2106

Leslie Pool (District 7):
leslie.pool@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2107

Paige Ellis (District 8):
paige.ellis@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2108

Kathie Tovo (District 9):
kathie.tovo@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2109

Alison Alter (District 10):
alison.alter@austintexas.gov | 512-978-2110