ACTION ALERT: Contact the Austin City Council Today and Tell Them Not to Increase the CodeNEXT Budget

 

By Community Not Commodity

The California-based consultants in charge of the controversial CodeNEXT project have busted their budget, and now they’re begging taxpayers for millions more.

Tomorrow, the Austin City Council could vote to approve another $2 million for Opticos Design, inflating CodeNEXT’s original cost estimate by more than 400 percent. The company has failed to meet the city’s minority-hiring requirements and is widely believed to be moving CodeNEXT in the wrong direction, but that isn’t stopping their consultants from burning through taxpayer dollars at an unprecedented rate.

 

Enough is enough! Download this letter and email it to the Austin City Council today, or call council members and ask them to do the following:

  • Refuse the CodeNEXT consultants’ request for more money
  • Remove the consultants and city staff who are moving CodeNEXT in the wrong direction
  • Pause CodeNEXT, spend time talking to concerned voters, and then rethink the project

 

Here’s how to get in touch with members of the Austin City Council:

Ora Houston (District 1): ora.houston@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2101
Delia Garza (District 2): delia.garza@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2102
Sabino Renteria (District 3): sabino.renteria@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2103
Greg Casar (District 4): greg.casar@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2104
Ann Kitchen (District 5): ann.kitchen@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2105
Jimmy Flannigan (District 6): jimmy.flannigan@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2106
Leslie Pool (District 7): leslie.pool@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2107
Ellen Troxclair (District 8): ellen.troxclair@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2108
Kathie Tovo (District 9): kathie.tovo@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2109
Alison Alter (District 10): alison.alter@austintexas.gov or 512-978-2110

Check this map if you aren’t sure which council member represents you.

Together we can build an Austin for everyone!